The Positive Effect of Negative Words

Well, it’s official. I’ve met our first naysayer. After months and months of incredibly positive encouraging and supportive words a “half empty cupper” snuck in . The gist of the conversation wasn’t even substantial but it was just those few ideas that allowed doubt to creep in and cloud my mission and goals. For the last couple of days I’ve really been trying to push those negative words away but as you can imagine sometimes those negative words have 10 times the effect of a positive word.

Despite the power of discouraging words we can still find hope in positive words. My Grammy has always made it very clear that she believes me. My entire life my Grammy spoke nothing but words of encouragement and praise. No matter what I was attempting to accomplish she always made me feel like I could do anything. I believe my grandmother followed the biblical guideline of Ephesians 4:29  “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” I experienced the same phenomenon as a student at Texas A&M. Ask any player in the Big 12 and they will agree that Kyle Field is one of the hardest stadiums to play in because of the thousands of Aggie fans chanting the same cheers of unity and perseverance and fight. Proverbs 18:21 says the tongue has the power of life and death.

When I started down this path one of the most discouraging statements I heard were from the area churches. I repeatedly heard the problem of chronic poverty, teen pregnancy, and homelessness is not one that can be solved. I fully understand that a little house hosting 8 girls is not going to solve the problem. Life is full of problems but we have to deal with them. If we aren’t careful all we will see are the problems . Paul gives us much more than a suggestion for postive Christian living in Phillipians 4:8. Through the inspired word of God I see this verse as a command for making a lasting difference in our communities. “Whatever is admirable—if any-thing is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

My naysayer’s comments were finally lifted yesterday after a brief conversation with a colleague from Thrive. She said “Someone sharing life through Christ is so needed out here. You keep on doing what you’re doing. We need you.” I think the positive effect of my naysayer’s negative words were for me to seek out positive interactions. To crave encouragement instead of wallowing in doubt.

I found this statement this morning and I hope it is an encouraging word to you. “When you wake up in the morning, ask God to help you look for and focus on the positive. Pray for this attitude throughout the day. Choose to meditate on the positive. Bring sunshine into the world.”

How will you bring sunshine into the world today?

 

 

The mission of The Sparrow’s Nest Maternity Home is to provide a Christ centered shelter and to educate homeless, pregnant, and parenting young women by providing a wide range of services that empower them to make a positive and healthy life decisions for themselves and their babies.

 

 

2 responses to “The Positive Effect of Negative Words

  1. Your little house with a handful of girls may not solve the whole issue, but it sure will change the world for those young ladies and their babies…
    not to mention those involved in working there and loving them…
    and those onlookers who will see Jesus loving people through the Sparrow’s Nest…
    and the countless lives that will be affected by the young families that fly out of that nest…

  2. You just keep at it…serving the Lord and glorifying Him through all your doing….there are girls whose lives will be changed because they will meet Him!
    BTW—how’d you do that cool snow effect on your page? Tres cool!

Leave a Reply

