Regaining our sense of invincibility

Dome climber, playground equipment, Lifetime P...

Image via Wikipedia

For one of my runs this week I forgot to bring a hat or a pony to keep my hair out of my face. I kicked myself for not laying it out with all the other cold weather running gear and high tek performance wear. I just knew this was really going to throw off my times. I prepared myself to be annoyed for the whole 45 minutes. Instead I had an immediate flashback to being a little girl busting out of the classroom and running as fast as I could onto the playground and not giving a darn about my hair or clothes or shoes. Back then I didn’t even know where a brush was most of the time. But I loved to just run. If you saw me running on Wednesday it might have looked more awkward than usual but I loved trying to re-capture that looseness,  that freedom of just being a kid and running. I wasn’t trying to get anywhere. I was worried about form and fitness. I wasn’t worried about times and cadence. I just ran. Time and age and agendas and social acceptance didn’t hold me back. I literally had the wind in my hair.

I wonder how many of us have lost that feeling of just blazing out to the playground. I wonder how many of us are afraid of climbing to top of that crazy metal, dome contraption on most playgrounds. When we were 8,  the top of that thing made us feel like we were King of the World. We really were the center of the universe. How many Cherry Drops did you do from the bars? I wonder when we stopped swinging as high as we could and jumping out to fly through the air. I wonder what made us think flinging ourselves down a grassy hillside is no longer a good idea. Why did we stop climbing up the slides instead of sliding down like everybody else? When did we stop feeling invincible?

Starting The Sparrow’s Nest is a bit like swinging  as high as possible and jumping out and not really knowing if we’ll land on our feet. But the exhilaration of taking a risk, of doing something radically different, of remembering that feeling of being able to do anything at all comes back to us. We have a chance to set the world on fire but this time no one is going to tell us it’s not safe to play with matches.

I know God placed in you amazing dreams that you may not have ever verbalized to anyone else. I know He placed in you that need to be of something big and something important. I know that whatever is important to you, the things you value, the things you want to take flight, we can use those at The Sparrow’s Nest.  Together we can climb to the top of the dome, we can run and feel the wind whip our hair around, we can set the world on fire. With God we can feel invincible again.

Tell me what you are passionate about, tell me how you want to set the world on fire.

One response to “Regaining our sense of invincibility

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Regaining our sense of invincibility « thesparrowsneststl -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

