Aside

What does 5 Bucks Get You?

New five dollar bill debuts March 13, 2008.

Image via Wikipedia

What does $5 bucks get you anymore? Five Arby’s sandwiches? An overpriced soda at the movies? A little more than a gallon of gas? Not much to say the least.

A couple of days ago someone handed me a $5 dollar bill for The Sparrow’s Nest GIVE WINGS: 30K in 30 DAYS capital campaign. I could tell they were embarrassed to hand it to me. They told me they were “sorry, but it’s all I can do right now. When things get better I’ll give more. I think what you are doing is great.”

What do you say to that? What do you say to a person who works multiple jobs, who has endured all kinds of economic turmoil, who you know counts every single penny trying not to go further into debt.

This is one of those times when I hear God speaking so clearly to me. This is one of those times when I can share with you the beauty of generosity. I can encourage something FOR you rather than FROM you. To give an offering that wasn’t ours to begin with. It’s obvious how The Sparrow’s Nest is blessed by this individual’s act of obedience. But do you see how God will bless this individual by them sharing this beautiful offering? Five bucks is giving them more than they bargained for.

One of the scriptures that we are founded on is Matthew 6. I want to draw your attention to verses 19-21.

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

I don’t want to force your hand and I’m definitely not trying to use scripture to make you feel guilty. I just simply want you to know that the Bible says our heart is connected to the things we have on this earth including our money. As Casey Graham has stated “Generosity is a spiritual decision, not just a financial decision.”  And any spiritual decision that brings you closer in step with God is a beautiful thing.

It was hard for that Sparrow’s Nest supporter to part with that hard earned $5 but that person has to know they were doing the right thing for such a time as this. I’m afraid to say it but I will anyway. I hope your donation is hard for you as well. I hope you consider donating more than what you normally would. But be reassured I am praying that God’s blessings will be poured abundantly over your life for your act of generosity.

Leave a Reply

