What I Want For You

Kilimanjaro back to KiboHut

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes when I have a goal I get tunnel vision. For a very spacey, squirrel-y type personality, I can still get focused on one thing and those other details of life fall to the way side. If you haven’t noticed I’ve been focused on raising money to get The Sparrow’s Nest off the ground.

There’s a rather negative connotation when we think about someone who is solely focused on money. On the flip side, you would also think trying to help people wouldn’t be so hard or so complicated or so held back by something as petty as money. Who knew it would require so much money. However, God is REALLY using money and fundraising to mold me during this process.

First, I hope you can rejoice with me as I personally learn yet another level of trusting God. This month’s goal of raising $30,000 in 30 days is overwhelming. We are a third of the way through the month and a third of the way to our goal. I literally just have to commit the GIVE WINGS campaign to God and know He will take care of us.

When I look at the $405,000 needed to get everything off the ground running fully, I feel like I’m hiking up Mt Kilimanjaro in flip flops during a snowstorm. However, whether it’s 30K or 300K I have to let go of the worry and know God has it under control.

Second, I have to ask you to forgive me. For quite awhile I had been trying to figure out how I can get you to give more money to this cause. Then God showed me through another fundraiser that I was way out of line.

Then with a little more grace and maturity, but not much, I moved toward trying to determine what I could give you in return for what you were giving to The Sparrow’s Nest. Then God used a donor to tell me that trinkets and return gifts or even some acts of service can come across as empty.

Now, I’m trying to grow in my faith and look at it this way. I don’t want something FROM you. I want some things FOR you. Whether you give to The Sparrow’s Nest or not. I do want you to know the blessings that come from generosity. I want you to know how much I love you. I want you to know the joy of loving others.

More than anything I want you to know how much God loves you.

Leave a Reply

